Project 52: Week 3…Good Luck West Point

The daughter's room. She went to the mall the next day to buy new underwear rather than do laundry.

My daughter’s room. She went to the mall the day after I took this to buy new underwear rather than do laundry.

This week’s photos are filed under “Complete Chaos” and they were not easy for a mother to take!

Dear United States Military Academy,

On July 2, my husband and I will drive up to West Point, NY where we will drop daughter number three off and into your care for the next four years. I would like to wish you the best of luck in your endeavors to mold Bethany into a disciplined military officer. As you can see by the state of her room and car, she is a bit disorganized; ok…she’s a total slob.

Quite honestly, I don’t know what you’re going to do with her as I have tried everything from locking her in her stinky cave room until it’s clean to boxing up all of her stuff on the floor and threatening to call the Salvation Army. Maybe since new cadets are only allowed to have like 4 uniforms and 8 pairs of underwear, keeping things tidy won’t be so difficult.

Cadet’s room at West Point

Being well renowned as a premier institute for higher learning and military discipline, I think (hope) you are up for the challenge. We’ll see how successful you were when Bethany comes home for Thanksgiving Break. By that time, I will have completely sanitized her room and it would be nice if she didn’t mess it up again.

Sincerely,

Bethany’s Mother

P.S…In the process of turning my daughter into a neat nick, please try not to stifle her creativity. Bethany has an incredible imagination and is a very innovative thinker. As Albert Einstein said, “If a cluttered desk is a sign of a cluttered mind, then what are we to think of an empty desk?”

The car. Lots of good stuff to eat in here if you don't mind mold.

The car. Lots of good stuff to eat in here if you don’t mind mold.

Bethany, soon-to-be reformed slob??

Bethany, soon-to-be reformed slob??

19 thoughts on “Project 52: Week 3…Good Luck West Point

  1. Wow, very impressive! (Where she’s going to school, not the mess. Although that’s kind of impressive too!) Congratulations- it looks like you’ve raised a great daughter and I’m sure she’ll learn to be neat once it’s not an option to be messy.

    • Thanks. That’s a good thought…I guess she will have to improve if there are no other options. I imagine if her roommates get into trouble because of her mess that will encourage her to change her ways.:)

  2. I’ve been there. My guess is its just a phase and she will outgrow it. It get tiring after a while – always looking for things/going shopping. I went through the same and I am pretty organized and neat now.

  3. I was not at West Point but I was in the Army in the late ’70’s. There is no option to have a messy room. So, she will figure it out quickly. I was the same way, our cars looked about the same. Good luck to her and you as it is not the easiest thing for some to do. I loved it, though!

    • Yes, some training is definitely in order. I hope she will be happy in the Army just like you were. She’s very excited about it and only considered military schools when applying to colleges. Thanks for commenting!

      • The beginning is the hardest with the training, by the books attitude and lots of yelling. If she plays their game and doesn’t take it personally she’ll be a winner. I was promoted before everyone else and became a squad leader because I learned the game early.

  4. Too funny! This reminds me of my sister’s room and car growing up. I think West Point is up to the task though. Good luck! I am visiting from the Friday Favorites at Virginia Bloggers. Cheers!

  5. Pingback: West Point Really Works! | greatsnaps, goodtimes and me

Leave a comment