Say Goodbye, Say Hello!

Say Goodbye, Say Hello

“You say yes, I say no
You say stop and I say go go go, oh no
You say goodbye and I say hello
Hello hello”

-The Beatles

Savoring final memories is something I learned from my friend Gena Barefoot. I remember Gena telling me one warm Hawaiian morning how she had fed Taylor, her only child, his last bottle the night before and had rocked and rocked him for much longer that was necessary just to enjoy and reflect upon all the times she had sat in that same chair feeding her precious baby, watching him hungrily gulp down his milk at first and then lazily drift off to sleep still drowsily sucking every now and again.

At this point in my life I had never thought about the last time I would do anything with my kids because my world was full of beginnings. Two of the four children I had planned to have were just babies themselves! However, this resonated with me and I tucked it away for later. When I had Sophie I remembered Gena and was mindful of relishing and enjoying all of my “lasts” as a mother. As my girls began heading off to college and time with them in the house grew shorter and shorter, the “lasts” seemed to multiply.

Saying goodbye means saying hello. The last day at home before kindergarten or college begins is also the first day of a beautiful adventure.

Baby books and Hallmark celebrate firsts, but “lasts” are more memorable for me. Thanks Gena!

Leave a Reply

